My Little Friend

So something that I’ve been sort of avoiding talking about is my granddads house. Now his house dates back to the 1600s when it operated as a mill and can be seen as having a few quirks.

The house over its vast life has been a mill, a inn, a hotel and a pub before my granddad bought it, and it seems most people have a story to tell about the house. Men who used to visit the place when it was pub said that in the mens toilets you would be tapped on the shoulder and turn around and find no one there. Many people have said to see a old lady wandering around and my mother once woke up to find not only the lady watching her and me, but she was in the house in the 1800s and could point out exactly where things were. The house has been exorcised twice but it seems that there may still be a few spirits and memories lingering.

i have never felt comfortable in my granddads house, and up until i was twelve would not sleep by myself, and if i went into a empty room i would run until i was back with people, I’ve always seemed to attract the paranormal to me but it was 10 times worse at my granddads.

When I was twelve i began to sleep alone in a separate room when i visited, but i always had one of my granddads dogs to sleep in with me. I tend to sleep between two rooms depending on what one is available, I have woken up in my normal room in the middle of the night hearing people screaming as the room behind me burned and bombs went off in the countryside, i woke my mum up yelling the house was on fire and the next morning instead of reassuring me nothing like that had happened my granddad was silent.

The incidences happened everytime i visited my granddad but a couple of years ago, they changed. I was sleeping in my aunts old room with one of the dogs Hilly. Hilly is intuitive  so if there is anything about she knows, and this night she refused to settle, but more than this i swore i could see the door changing the amount it was open every time i looked at it. i struggled to sleep until around 2am where i got so fed up I said “if there is anything here and you want me to know something come out or go away”

Hilly settled after that, and i began to fall asleep. The next thing i remember was Hilly waking up and sitting up right, I looked over to the door as a young boy dressed in old fashioned clothing ran in, he was terrified and stood at the bottom of the bed and said “they’re after me, can i hide, i haven’t done anything wrong” I nodded and the boy hid under my bed and I laid down and closed my eyes. Shortly after i heard mens voices and they came up to the bed and i just remember thinking “if they find him I have to stop them” and for some reason something in me said the boy and the men worked there and they thought the boy had broken something which he hadn’t.

The men eventually left and I stuck my head over the side as the boy stuck his head out and he asked if he could stay with me. I nodded and after that fell asleep. I didn’t really think much about it in the morning and I’ve never mentioned it to anyone apart from my mum, but I’ve noticed thigns have changed at my granddads.

Whenever I felt like I was being followed, it always felt bad and large like a man and scared me as a child. since that night, whoever follows me has changed it’s smaller and hides behind objects like it knows I knows its there but wants to try and scare me, much like a child would. Theres also a different atmosphere when I’m alone, its…playful and I’m not scared to sleep alone anymore, I don’t feel scared of it watching me sleep because its protecting me.

I don’t know if I did see a little boy or if I dreamt it, but something changed that night and since then whenever I’m at my granddads I feel like my little friend is about watching what I’m doing.

Leave a comment