“You’re doing proper woodwork!”

So I’ve spent the past 2 weeks basically living in the Workshop, I’m making a dresser for my project and at the moment am focusing on making the bottom half.

DSC_0133[1]Today I put it together (the drawers are being made tomorrow) and in our course, we generally go for the rule of make it in the easiest way possible. Instead of letting me do that my teacher has been giving me a first hand crash course in carpentry and I’m enjoying every minute of it! (all of our work needs a purpose, mine is designed as a interactive museum exhibit)

I’ve been getting a lot of looks from the first and second years and also other people from different courses, but my favourite remark was from one of our caretakers who walked into the room, pointed at my work and said to the technician “You’re teaching proper woodwork”  and the technicians response was “yes, we do occasionally do that”

Leave a comment